Customer reviews for Suunto Cobra

Suunto Cobra

Air-integrated console-mounted dive computer
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
4 out of 6(67%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Suunto Cobra
Review 1 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product has been a reliable computer.

Posted02 February 2016
Customer avatar
fromConnecticut / New Hampshire, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Pro
As I'm writing this, I can't believe there are only 5 other reviews. I've used this computer since 2004 and have 1168 dives on it. It provides reliable info to keep me safe. I really love this product but I am going to switch to a wrist computer soon. I've had 2 problems.
(1) My pressure/depth sensor stopped working properly about 2 years ago but only at shallow depths (6 - 15 feet) and only when working with students which requires surfacing a lot. It has always and continues to work fine when doing a normal dive.
(2) I used to use a Quick Disconnect (QD) with this computer. The QD connection failed twice on me, once on land and once at depth. The hose connection came loose unexpectedly causing gas leakage. The failures happened 2 years apart but after the second failure (at 80 feet), I removed the QD never to be used again. These failures happened even with annual maintenance.
I continue to use DM3 for info downloading. DM4 was a disaster and the information display in DM5 is not as robust as the last update of DM3. I also like the ability to write custom reports in DM3 because the database is Microsoft Access. By the way, the Microsoft Access password is KOIRA.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cobra Review

Posted07 September 2015
Customer avatar
fromCorning, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
I have had the cobra since I got my own gear. Trips to Caymen, Bonaire, Bermuda etc - total dives on computer right around 60. Pressure sensor went while in the service center for it's annual maintenance. Word is unfixable failure and of course past the two year mark. Apparently it's a well known issue.
However, I am the proud owner of a second new Cobra. Honestly I like the computer even though its design is a bit dated, buttons relatively hard to push for something digital, menu navigation void of an Apple approach and a bit weighty. I like the display of information while diving (right data on the home screen), dive logs, floating compass rather than digital and the unit measurements are all very accurate. I just haven't found a better design at this price point that I like so repurchased. I do like the constantly updated dive time remaining based on air consumption, this has helped me slow down & relax.
Suunto - would be interested in why the pressure sensor seems to be an issue for many. I always rinsed in fresh water after every dive, it was annually serviced by certified Suunto dealer and stored in warm dry regulator bag.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuuntoPoorDesign
Belmar, NJ, USA
 
Please wait while more information about SuuntoPoorDesign is loaded.
Additional information about SuuntoPoorDesign could not be loaded.
Non-Repairable Depth Pressure Sensor
Posted 17 November 2015
A dive computer should last more than 60 dives.
Having a dive computer with a non-repairable depth pressure sensor is unacceptable.
Many companies are manufacturing dive computers with the ability to replace the depth pressure sensor.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Depth sensor defect after only 28 dives.

Posted03 February 2015
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Depth sensor defect after only 28 dives.
Always careful use and pressure less cleaning with fresh water.
Warranty time is over – bad luck.
Thanks, Suunto!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gear!

Posted11 December 2013
Customer avatar
fromFort Montgomery, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
I have been diving for 25 years and I've had a wide range of gear and computers. I have found this to be a very robust and capable computer. There is a bit of a learning curve and can be complicated in the beginning, but by setting up sample dives and playing around with the settings, it's easy to get used to. I like that it has a user replaceable battery and needs almost no shop maintenance (something I disliked about other computers). I look forward to using this device for years to come.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has excellent features

Posted16 September 2013
Customer avatar
fromVictoria, BC, Canada
Gender:Female
Experience Level:Pro
Reliable, great size, and has all the features an introductory or professional diver will need. Easy to use, and robust. I have had 50+ dive s on this comp and it has stood the up to some harsh conditions. Definitely worth an investment.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suunto Cobra
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I hate this computer

Posted09 August 2013
Customer avatar
fromUSVI
Gender:Female
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
Seriously? Can you provide some DIRECTIONS that actually work to set this up? You are going to RUIN my dive. I paid ALOT of money for this computer and your instructions are ridiculous and DO NOT WORK.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-24points
4of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jhauser
Telluride, CO
 
Please wait while more information about jhauser is loaded.
Additional information about jhauser could not be loaded.
Have had mine for yrs...easy once you get it...
Posted 07 September 2013
I used to carry a laminated cheat sheet so I could set my nitrox. Now it's hard to believe I had problems...it's pretty intuitive once you get the process. Be happy to email or chat sometime to try to help! (I have a Stinger also...different button config but same process.)
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)