Customer reviews for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.

Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
77 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer reviews for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Review 1 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use dive comp

Posted08 December 2013
Customer avatar
scoobyd
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great comp at a good price for diving & teaching with (PADI MSDT). Unfortunately, I don't like the ultra conservatism when in shallower water - the comp tends to skip/yoyo between a long no deco limit & very short no deco limit even when shallower than 10mtrs. Both my mosquito & my Stinger do not tend to "act" like this & I have tested all 3 together, at the same time with no previous dive log!
However, even after saying this I would not use any other brand of dive comp.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing for the Diver on the Go!

Posted18 July 2013
Customer avatar
Bossvis
fromSouth Africa
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I highly recommend the D4i, it is the best tool for the Recreational diver on the go. I travel extensively and love to dive, i never leave home without it! Very versatile and durable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has great features

Posted22 May 2013
Customer avatar
bin_bu9eem
fromDubai - United Arab Emirates
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Pro
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It would be a good idea if you include the Arabic language to your products.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice colors but I mis the color Green

Posted04 April 2013
Customer avatar
HansJMG
fromNL
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Cycling
Experience Level:Advanced
But when you bring the color green?
It suit my name ;))
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

some nice updates, but also essential downgrade

Posted22 March 2013
Customer avatar
ironoki
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Pro
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I owned a Suunto D4 for quite a while but when it started to spontaneously reset (sometimes between dives) I decided I had to get a new one while my old D4 was in repair and upgrade to the D4i.
There are some nice new features like the stopwatch while diving, of course the pairing with the tank, apnea training mode and surface time indicator when in "time" mode (great feature). Also greatly appreciated is the short press for the backlight while diving instead of the old long press.
One comment that I have is that the alarm is hard to hear underwater at times. (As an instructor this is not an uncommon occurrence, when doing CESA with students.)
But...as other people also remarked, the omitting of the "off" mode is hard to understand for me. Especially since it was included in the previous version. I must admit that now that there is the timer in dive mode it is a bit less essential, but it would still be great for battery and dive log not to have all the confined sessions in there.
This would be a great computer if Suunto would release this feature that was in included in previous versions through a DIY upgrade.
Finally I hope this computer proves a bit more reliable than the D4 that started to spontaneously reset.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
How many dives/years did you have the previous D4
Posted 14 November 2013
Hi:
I was just wondering, how many dives/years did you have the D4 before it started malfunctioning?
It should not malfunction, but if it's 2 years/200 dives it would obviously be a much greater issue than 6 years/3000 dives...
Thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Satisfied overall.

Posted01 December 2012
Customer avatar
cmwort
Gender:Male
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall, we are satisfied with the D4i; however, given the MSRP would expect to have a compass, and agree with others that are disappointed with not having the ability to turn the Dive mode off while snorkeling or swimming. The battery drain is an issue - would hope that enhancements or patches would include these functions (which many would be happy to pay for if available).
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good DC, poor software

Posted28 October 2012
Customer avatar
bfs7hpb
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DM4 needs a lot of work, only down side to this product so far. Expect to loose a lot of the important features from DM3.x in DM4.x. MovesDontCount seems to be where Suunto is headding if you want their DC dive manager features, but even with the forced social media plugin, you still don't get the old DM3.x feature set in its entirity. This is my 4th Suunto DC, DM3.x has always been great, but I'm afraid I'll be going with a third party software package for dive management for now till DM4 improves and Suunto breaks the near mandatory social media integration.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool Very Good

Posted26 September 2012
Customer avatar
smangondato
fromSam
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Scuba Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I found the Device Very very Cool and Very very Good Hmmmmm
Yes, I recommend this product.
-13points
0of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's complete.

Posted21 February 2012
Customer avatar
Viriatodutra
fromGuaíba - RS, Brasil
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Tennis
Experience Level:Beginner
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I feel safe when diving and satisfaction when i follow the results on the computer. It's educational, I'm very pleased.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Dec247h
 
Please wait while more information about Dec247h is loaded.
Additional information about Dec247h could not be loaded.
Not the white
Posted 29 September 2012
Having bought the white version, I thought it looked pretty nifty, until it started going yellow after TWO weeks, I've sent an email to Suunto, but that has got me nowhere. I would recommend buying any other colour product than the white one.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Suunto D4i Red USB not incl.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but an upgrade?

Posted04 March 2012
Customer avatar
kevtron
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Free Diving
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like my D4i overall. Looks good, and does everything that it's supposed to do. But it's missing a very simple feature from the original D4. I cannot turn Dive Mode OFF. As a freediver I often train in the pool. Not being able to turn this off means that simply jumping into the pool gives me a 2 second 1.5 meter dive logged. And at the end of a pool training session I have over 50 dives logged, and know that it's drained my battery quite a bit. I've taken to NOT wearing a watch I bought specifically for freediving while training because of this.
Why was this feature removed from the D4i, when the D4 had it?
Still a great watch, but the upgrades are barely worth it for me because this feature is missing. If you care about battery life, or do any form of training, consider buying a used D4 instead.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
32of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
byronkay
Kona, Hawaii
 
Please wait while more information about byronkay is loaded.
Additional information about byronkay could not be loaded.
Bring a Stopwatch
Posted 14 July 2012
Being a free diver with a 6.5 minute breath hold married to a free diver that also has a 6.5 minute breath hold we would like to make a suggestion - Bring a stopwatch. It's unnecessary to wear your watch in the pool since your only doing static and dynamic performances.
-8points
1of 10voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)