Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

Overall rating:
3.696 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
4
1 Star
10
35 out of 55(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
248 Questions | 294 Answers
Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Review 1 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suunto Core Alu Deep Black.

Posted26 February 2014
Customer avatar
INDY102370
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Soccer
Experience Level:Expert
This is my first Suunto and I like the functionality, size, quality and look of the watch. After looking at many watches, I always came back to this Suunto. I've had several compliments and constantly get asked what kind of watch it is. For me, this is the perfect watch, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking at Suunto.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME WATCH SUUNTO!!

Posted31 March 2014
Customer avatar
dusty541
fromPendleton
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Weight Training
Experience Level:Advanced
This watch is by far the best watch I have ever had! All the readings are accurate and very useful! I wear this watch everyday everywhere cause it's water resistant I even shower with it. It looks really cool too and get compliments on it all the time! Anyone thinking of getting this sunto definitely get it! Is a little spendy but it's worth it I think.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

any one got a flash light?

Posted26 March 2014
Customer avatar
dullwatch
fromUK
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Alpine Skiing
Experience Level:Expert
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
unless you are about 20 years old, have eaten raw carrots all of your life and have 20/20 vision with flash lights built into your retina. Don't buy this watch!
If you think the display will be anything near as clear as Suunto have displayed it on this page, be sure this an illusion. The actual watch has digits coloured perfectly to blend in with their background especially when light shines on its glass face. ( you can actually see the name of the manufacturer on the face easier than the time as they had the good sense to print that on in WHITE!) Forget all the other features, they are so small and dull that you are going to need the hubble telescope and a search light.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great watch

Posted21 February 2014
Customer avatar
sbt6w3
fromMissouri
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Circuit Training
Experience Level:Advanced
I have the Core regular black. I wear this watch every day all day. I sleep in it, i shower with it on, everything. Only problem I have had is the strap loop breaking and that is the only reason i gave it a good and not excellent rating. I emailed support and they sent me a new loop though. I will most likely buy another suunto when this one wears out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Band loop break easy

Posted17 February 2014
Customer avatar
mstrofkeys19
fromReno, NV, USA
Gender:Male
I purchased this watch a year and a half ago and I had to get a replacement loop twice and they broke in the same exact spot.
Many people are complaining about the same thing happening to their watch. The loop is tight and hard to pull through to lock in place. I would not get this watch again unless they change their style of the band. You'll Understand Suunto.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accurate, comfortable and easily (for me) readable display

Posted15 February 2014
Customer avatar
Shasari
fromSan Ramon, CA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Canoeing
This is the second Suunto wrist product I've owned. I have also owned handheld orienteering compasses made by this company.
I saw the images of this watch, how slick and cool it looks, and I knew I wanted one. I have had it for a little while now and am pleased at the accuracy of the altimeter, barometer and compass. I have compared this with my other Suunto product, the Yachtsman and the barometer function on both are equal and spot on to a hand-held instrument used to measure barometric pressure.
The compass is spot-on with my hand held magnetic needle compass.
The display takes a little getting used to, I'll grant you that, but once accustomed to it, I find it quite easy to read. I glanced through the manual and once I knew how to access the functions, figured out the rest on my own. Settings are quick and easy, and the menu layout is well organized into categories.
The watch is extremely wearable and I have literally worn it 24x7 (except for showers) for the last week and it has not once bothered me in my sleep as other watches I've owned (the Yachtsman) have. This is a very nicely designed watch. The Yachtsman is a great watch too, but a bit bulky.
I have received compliments on the watch from my colleagues, many of who are avid outdoor sports enthusiasts (biking, hiking, climbing, running, swimming etc), and I plan to use this watch on my next hike as an accompaniement to other gear I own.
All in all, Suunto made a fine timekeeping / ABC watch in this model. I may opt for the heavy rubber strap as the stock band does feel a bit flimsy, but is holding up well nonetheless.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not fit for intensive use

Posted31 January 2014
Customer avatar
jpbeer
fromSwitzerland
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Sailing
Experience Level:Expert
I bought the standard model 2 years ago and have used it everyday, sometimes in harsh conditions on my boat around the world. It is not fit for such an undertaking although it is sold as a "sports" watch. The aluminum face is ruined. The barometer does not work well anymore. The worst is the rubber strap. It breaks down every six months or so and I am now just tired of paying for expensive replacement straps. On top of all this, the contrast of the display is not satisfactory, especially at night. On the positive side, the user replaceable battery is a great idea. The watch has now been put in a drawer and replaced by another brand. Sorry Suunto...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed, not fit for purpose

Posted22 November 2013
Customer avatar
Dunlewy
fromUK
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Expert
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There is little contrast between the figures and the back ground (mentioned in previous reviews), this makes the watch difficult to read in all but the brightest of light.
The stop watch figures are very small and I can't read them, I use a stop watch for cycling, swimming and running and have to revert to my old watch.
The band which secures the strap after the buckle was broken when I opened the packaging, tried various glues without success.
The instructions are useless, had to go to youtube to see how to operate it. The watch is complicated to use.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I spent $300.00 for this ?

Posted28 December 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
fromNegaune, MI, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Crosscountry Skiing
Experience Level:Advanced
About three years ago a bought a Suunto Core All black.
The first one lasted not quite a year. Since I was still under warranty it was replaced. The replacement Core lasted just over two years. Of course, way past warranty. I expected much more of Suunto given its reputation.
I will never again buy a Suunto product.
I don't believe in throwing good money after bad.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too dim to see

Posted04 December 2013
Customer avatar
penniston
fromUS
Gender:Male
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The Suunto Core all black has white numerals on a black background. I learned how to adjust the contrast, and discovered how to change it, but there seemed to be only 2 possibilities: too dim and too weird. I worked at solving this problem for a couple of hours after I bought it, and I called the help line. The person on the help desk walked me through the change in contrast and verified that there was nothing else I could do to help the situation. I took the watch back to the store the next morning.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This watch tells time, altitude and barometric pressure

Posted02 December 2013
Customer avatar
penniston
fromUS
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It is really nice, but its temperature readings are some average of your body temp and the air temp, unless you wear it over your clothing. The stopwatch numerals are too small to read while you are actually doing anything. Apparently you must buy an Ambit for that.
Aside from that, I really like this watch. I don't care that much about its idea of the temp, and I am using my cell phone for the stopwatch. Watching the barometric pressure is really convenient, and when you are changing altitude, it gives you that instead.
The Core all black has a white on black display which is unusably dim, but this one is fine. Buy it instead!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Flimsy Wrist Band

Posted29 November 2013
Customer avatar
redseaindustries
fromNSW, Australia
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Orienteering
Experience Level:Expert
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I'm a professional adventure guide and started using a Suunto Core as of July 2013. The watch itself is a fantastic everyday wrist top but its mount design is flimsy and weak. For an outdoor watch the Core isnt able to take much of a beating, especially the band. In summary the Core is a great watch, but is being sold to the wrong market.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice watch

Posted11 September 2013
Customer avatar
borkov1
fromBulgaria
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Cycling
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The watch has really nice features,but sometimes it's not correct.The battery is OK(it lasts for about a year).It's a great everyday watch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This watch has many great features.

Posted31 August 2013
Customer avatar
McClintock
fromAustralia
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Trekking
Experience Level:Expert
This watch works well and has many great features.
However, there is one problem!
Poor screen display in low light situations.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

As of now.. not totally satisfied

Posted11 August 2013
Customer avatar
mvaller
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I want to give a great review of this product. I'm hoping with some further testing I can come back and give a updated review but after having this for a little while and testing it out in the White Mountains while hiking. I found it to not keep accurate settings? Being a pilot as well I made sure to set using very accurate baro settings from local airport (while at airport) and give elevation reference which is both done by local airport and topo map.. but both did not seem to hold.
I first thought it might be because I'm left handed and maybe my wrist was blocking the sensor.. so I switched wrists for the remainder of the trip. When i got back, my altitude was showing about 250ft when my elevation was really 85. So i'm a bit at a loss... I love the design and the functionality but not sure what's going on with it's accuracy.
I got the nickname "storm" due to the watch going off so much for storm watch, when there were no issues or pressure drops. (which did actually stop once I switched wrists)
You would think they would put the sensor on the top or bottom so that way ANYONE (left or right handed) would were the watch?
If these items worked... it would be a 5 across the board, I love how to how feels on the wrist and love the design. I want to love this watch but can't ignore the innacuracy. Ugh man.. want to love it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
20of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

display issues

Posted10 July 2013
Customer avatar
surfnaked54
fromCalifornia, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Multisport
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This watch is great for looks; I have both a Vector that is four years old and a CORE in Sahara yellow. I have never had any issues with Vector, however, two weeks into having this CORE my "mode" button stopped working and my display lit up all the options. I literally had it two weeks to the day before the issues started arising. I was given this watch by my work as an "upgrade" to my aging four year old Vector, so since I didn't have to buy it it wasn't an issue to receive a new watch, but If I had to pay for a watch I wouldn't get this one. Don't get me wrong I love Suunto, I just think this watch can't keep up with me.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features and looks

Posted07 July 2013
Customer avatar
Gambit1976
fromPhilippines
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountain Biking
Experience Level:Expert
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The watch serves its purpose very well, with the perfect mix of ABC functions for a watch of its type. As a gadget geek and an occasional outdoors person, I love the features (all of them! so I won't elaborate on each#, and also like its low profile and subdued look. I use the watch as my daily go-to watch.
I found no faults with the Core during the period I have owned it, but my experience with great Suunto customer service gives me confidence in their support for their products #the barometric sensor on my Vector HR failed for some reason, but Suunto, via our local distributor, repaired it and returned it within weeks.#
I am also a bit confused on the other reviewers' complaints on the negative display models #I own the all-black Core#, as they don't seem to realize that readability is a bit of a trade off for this type of display. I personally don't see an issue as I realize the limitation of the negative display and find the display adequate for me.
All in all, I am very satisfied with the Core. With its great features and looks, and fairly reasonable price, I readily recommend it to anyone looking for an ABC watch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Singapore
Posted 12 July 2013
What's ABC function means?
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not very happy

Posted22 June 2013
Customer avatar
jsuller
Gender:Female
Primary Sport:Triathlon
Experience Level:Advanced
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Consistent problem with water vapor getting inside which causes the watch to stop working (and I have never removed the back). Wouldn't depend on it other than using it to tell time in a casual setting.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dhpolepole
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about dhpolepole is loaded.
Additional information about dhpolepole could not be loaded.
send it back
Posted 04 August 2013
I had that problem with mine a few years ago and they replaced it right away...no problem. Great customer service.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Core All Black

Posted28 April 2013
Customer avatar
enlil
Gender:Male
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was verry happy whit my suunto.But have some problems whit water infiltrations,and now light button stop working....I am not verry happy in this moment...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good watch - good value

Posted01 April 2013
Customer avatar
Beneton
fromEdmonton, AB, Canada
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountain Biking
Experience Level:Beginner
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Usability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Have used this product for over a year now.
It has nice features, it works well and looks good.
My only complaint would be that when the rubber strap broke and I started to look around to buy a replacement I realized that in Canada, Edmonton...there is no place to buy one. I had to order one from Mountain Co-op and it is on order still...after 2 months. Couldn't order from the website since they do not ship to Canada. What an inconvenience. I love the watch itself, otherwise I would've toss it because of this rubber strap issue.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>