Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
6
1 Star
11
42 out of 65(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
218 Questions | 268 Answers
Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Review 1 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problem with the watch slipping around your wrist

Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
rhp1955
fromBrampton, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Snowboarding
Experience Level:Expert
I'm a big fan of Suunto. I had an Observer for many years but finally had to replace it. I chose the Core Brushed Steel model but I'd recommend anyone looking for being active with it to choose the basic black plastic model because of the strap. The reason is the metal piece that attaches the watch strap to the watch is not fixed at the watch. It is attached to the watch by a screw and thus moves. What keeps happening on my wrist is that the watch slips around to the side of my wrist because it's a heavy piece. The plastic model has the strap attached right to the watch so will probably stay in place.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome in every way

Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
jloggins640
fromUSA
Gender:Female
Primary Sport:Mountain Biking
Experience Level:Beginner
I bought my first Core in 2009 before deploying to one of the many combat zones around the globe. I found every function from the compass, altimeter, barometer, to dual time zones served a purpose. The watch was well crafted tough yet stylish and I choosecall black as it did not reflect much light. After redeploying home I retired my first core and upon returning to law enforcement I bought another Core for the exact same reasons. Thank you for a great product you have a life long customer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Real strengths and real weaknesses

Posted16 January 2015
Customer avatar
KimPeters
fromNew Zealand
Gender:Male
Strengths
1. Great looking 'stealth' design, ideal for dress and hunting.
2. Ergonomic and comfortable.
3. Many functions and intuitive navigation.
Weaknesses
1. Very very difficult to read even when adjusted. Please Suunto make it at least as clear as your advertisements make it look.
2. Black on aluminium scratches significantly. Paint finish is not good enough.
3. Watch face also scratches also which surprised me.
4. Tiny tiny writing on secondary screen. The lettering seriously needs to be made larger.
5. The backlight is very unclear.
Conclusion
This is my second Suunto and I think it has real strengths and real weaknesses.
I am a hunter and I am looking forward to a model being made which has the same great features but fixes the very real problems of poor screen visibility and lack of scratch resistance. These are important things to get right when so much is riding on the watch in terms of safety when in the mountains.
Please Suunto make a clearer screen display. Was this the result of the Core range being not being made in Finland but offshore instead?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good looking watch with really poor scratch resistance

Posted03 December 2014
Customer avatar
Boxer_st
Gender:Male
Experience Level:Expert
The watch looks great when it's new, it's quite elegant. Also, it fits very ergonomic on wrist. It measures very well. What is really disappointing is the quality of the housing. After one year of using it, it looks really poor. The black paint from the bezel is ruined. It's not a best watch for real outdoor using, it's more a fancy watch for light trips in nature.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish and some unique but maybe not necessary functions...

Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
Reedr
fromIowa
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Running
Experience Level:Advanced
I received this as a Christmas gift and have wore it every day but it seems like the wrist band is getting loose and squeaking a little. The biggest complaint is that is does not have a stop watch. It has a countdown watch but that is not what I was looking for. This would be a nice added function. I would recommend this watch to others it looks great and has some unique functions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I was expecting more

Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
diazdd40
Gender:Male
This is my first Suunto watch thought it looked fantastic and worked great but I was under the impression that it really had the function that I saw, I saw the Movie the Equalizer, and this model was featured in the movies. I was dumbfounded when I looked at the stop watch function, the Movie is portrayed using the stop watch function when Denzel Washington is about to fight or time himself. I actually paused the movie to see what I liked what supposedly the watch function did, but was disappointed to see it was some special effect, In the movie it shows him pressing the button to start the timer and in Big Letters it says STOPWATCH in big Blue letters and numbers! never again will i believe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To Dim to see

Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
rl5601
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Cycling
Experience Level:Expert
Purchased after 1 day returned it, to dim to view especialy at night, called support the person I spoke to was helpful tried a few adjusments and no change. This is a watch with all the features I am sure Suunto is aware of the issue and working to correct until then do not buy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Swengen
 
Please wait while more information about Swengen is loaded.
Additional information about Swengen could not be loaded.
Negative display
Posted 21 March 2015
I wish you were right in being sure that Suunto is aware of the display issue and working to correct. I've had two negative displays and sold both to get one with a positive display that I'm happy with.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Than I Expected In This Watch

Posted04 October 2014
Customer avatar
BishopF4
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
I took my time researching this watch and I have had numerous watches over the years. The fit and wrist ergonomics of the Core are outstanding. The look is classy and functional. Programming instructions could be a bit better, however the online resources provide everything needed for this watch. I noticed many reviews were concerned about the brightness of the display. My experience with The Core is that even in direct sunlight, there is clear visibility of the face numbers at many different angles, and very few blackout areas. I am assuming that the reason the brightness is not like a headlight is because of the battery life, which in my opinion is a mild trade off. As for water issues, Water Resistant is like stain resistant on a pair of pants, you just do your best not to get it wet. If you plan to get it wet, I recommend that you plan on buying a new watch, and that you understand the term "Water Proof". Happy with The Core.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Elegant watch, with poor altimeter design

Posted12 August 2014
Customer avatar
pkundrat
fromSlovakia
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountain Biking
Experience Level:Advanced
I really like the looks and functions - big watch, but very elegant and suitable for business environment as well (leather strap, light alu case).
Major flaw - sensor holes are at the bottom of the watch - alt gain reading is unusable when worn on hand - if you sweat a little, water covers/uncovers sensor holes and altitude value oscilates +- 50m many times within seconds even if you stand still (even if i wear it so loose that it revolves around my arm). As a result my alt. gain/loss shows e.g. 3km per (while real gain was less than 1km).
Another weak feature (albeit almost never used) - compass bezel revolves smoothly only for first months - than dirt gets in and you cant move it at all.
Personally i can imagine better menu design requiring less tedious button presses e.g.:
- after auti switch to baro mode you cant read alti values without forcing alti mode
- time mode shows empty top row - date would be great there
- compass shows time at the bottom, alti at the top, barro again at the bottom! It is irritating to have to search for the time on the device which is mainly a watch.
- switching bottom row in the reverse order would greatly help when you overshoot
- i hate having to press 11buttons to get to countdown setup
If Suunto opened the sw of the watch allowing users to build custom firmware and if it had ant+/BLE connectivity - this would be a dream watch.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
17of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This watch takes a beating!

Posted10 July 2014
Customer avatar
justgentile
fromNew York, NY, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Expert
I have owned three SUUNTO watches and they all held up against my rugged outdoor life, but this one has had the best battery life and takes a beating. The altimeter is spot on as well as the compass. Great all around watch!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
3 watches
Posted 01 January 2015
If you've owned 3, then I would say they didn't last. What does rugged outdoor life mean to you? I'm sure its not like the marine who commented about his watch.
-3points
0of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

worked great until...

Posted30 June 2014
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Gender:Male
I am a marine and this watch was marketed on my base. I expected it to stand up to the rigors of my lifestyle since it was marketed to us. It stood up well for the first four months then it started leaking water and quit working! In general I am unsatisfied.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+32points
39of 46voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Rockybo
Snohomish, WA
 
Please wait while more information about Rockybo is loaded.
Additional information about Rockybo could not be loaded.
Then What Happened?
Posted 29 September 2014
Was is it fixed/repaired or did they replace the watch? Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Suunto Core Alu Deep Black.

Posted26 February 2014
Customer avatar
INDY102370
fromFlorida, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Soccer
Experience Level:Expert
This is my first Suunto and I like the functionality, size, quality and look of the watch. After looking at many watches, I always came back to this Suunto. I've had several compliments and constantly get asked what kind of watch it is. For me, this is the perfect watch, and I highly recommend it to anyone looking at Suunto.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME WATCH SUUNTO!!

Posted31 March 2014
Customer avatar
dusty541
fromPendleton
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Weight Training
Experience Level:Advanced
This watch is by far the best watch I have ever had! All the readings are accurate and very useful! I wear this watch everyday everywhere cause it's water resistant I even shower with it. It looks really cool too and get compliments on it all the time! Anyone thinking of getting this sunto definitely get it! Is a little spendy but it's worth it I think.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-9points
6of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

any one got a flash light?

Posted26 March 2014
Customer avatar
dullwatch
fromUK
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Alpine Skiing
Experience Level:Expert
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
unless you are about 20 years old, have eaten raw carrots all of your life and have 20/20 vision with flash lights built into your retina. Don't buy this watch!
If you think the display will be anything near as clear as Suunto have displayed it on this page, be sure this an illusion. The actual watch has digits coloured perfectly to blend in with their background especially when light shines on its glass face. ( you can actually see the name of the manufacturer on the face easier than the time as they had the good sense to print that on in WHITE!) Forget all the other features, they are so small and dull that you are going to need the hubble telescope and a search light.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+16points
44of 72voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Auggyboy
 
Please wait while more information about Auggyboy is loaded.
Additional information about Auggyboy could not be loaded.
Posted 16 May 2014
The Core is a great watch. It is very easy to read regardless what others say. All of the features are simple to use and very accurate
-6points
5of 16voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great watch

Posted21 February 2014
Customer avatar
sbt6w3
fromMissouri
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Circuit Training
Experience Level:Advanced
I have the Core regular black. I wear this watch every day all day. I sleep in it, i shower with it on, everything. Only problem I have had is the strap loop breaking and that is the only reason i gave it a good and not excellent rating. I emailed support and they sent me a new loop though. I will most likely buy another suunto when this one wears out.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Band loop break easy

Posted17 February 2014
Customer avatar
mstrofkeys19
fromReno, NV, USA
Gender:Male
I purchased this watch a year and a half ago and I had to get a replacement loop twice and they broke in the same exact spot.
Many people are complaining about the same thing happening to their watch. The loop is tight and hard to pull through to lock in place. I would not get this watch again unless they change their style of the band. You'll Understand Suunto.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accurate, comfortable and easily (for me) readable display

Posted15 February 2014
Customer avatar
Shasari
fromSan Ramon, CA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Canoeing
This is the second Suunto wrist product I've owned. I have also owned handheld orienteering compasses made by this company.
I saw the images of this watch, how slick and cool it looks, and I knew I wanted one. I have had it for a little while now and am pleased at the accuracy of the altimeter, barometer and compass. I have compared this with my other Suunto product, the Yachtsman and the barometer function on both are equal and spot on to a hand-held instrument used to measure barometric pressure.
The compass is spot-on with my hand held magnetic needle compass.
The display takes a little getting used to, I'll grant you that, but once accustomed to it, I find it quite easy to read. I glanced through the manual and once I knew how to access the functions, figured out the rest on my own. Settings are quick and easy, and the menu layout is well organized into categories.
The watch is extremely wearable and I have literally worn it 24x7 (except for showers) for the last week and it has not once bothered me in my sleep as other watches I've owned (the Yachtsman) have. This is a very nicely designed watch. The Yachtsman is a great watch too, but a bit bulky.
I have received compliments on the watch from my colleagues, many of who are avid outdoor sports enthusiasts (biking, hiking, climbing, running, swimming etc), and I plan to use this watch on my next hike as an accompaniement to other gear I own.
All in all, Suunto made a fine timekeeping / ABC watch in this model. I may opt for the heavy rubber strap as the stock band does feel a bit flimsy, but is holding up well nonetheless.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+9points
16of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Watch

Posted10 February 2014
Customer avatar
mootie
fromAustralia
Gender:Male
A beautiful timepiece - sleek, rugged. Everything works like it should. Highly recommend it to anyone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not fit for intensive use

Posted31 January 2014
Customer avatar
jpbeer
fromSwitzerland
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Sailing
Experience Level:Expert
I bought the standard model 2 years ago and have used it everyday, sometimes in harsh conditions on my boat around the world. It is not fit for such an undertaking although it is sold as a "sports" watch. The aluminum face is ruined. The barometer does not work well anymore. The worst is the rubber strap. It breaks down every six months or so and I am now just tired of paying for expensive replacement straps. On top of all this, the contrast of the display is not satisfactory, especially at night. On the positive side, the user replaceable battery is a great idea. The watch has now been put in a drawer and replaced by another brand. Sorry Suunto...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+26points
32of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed, not fit for purpose

Posted22 November 2013
Customer avatar
Dunlewy
fromUK
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Expert
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reliability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Usability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
There is little contrast between the figures and the back ground (mentioned in previous reviews), this makes the watch difficult to read in all but the brightest of light.
The stop watch figures are very small and I can't read them, I use a stop watch for cycling, swimming and running and have to revert to my old watch.
The band which secures the strap after the buckle was broken when I opened the packaging, tried various glues without success.
The instructions are useless, had to go to youtube to see how to operate it. The watch is complicated to use.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>