Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

Suunto Core Alu Deep Black

The outdoor watch with altimeter, barometer & compass in an elegant aluminum case
Overall rating:
3.622 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 82 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
7
1 Star
15
53 out of 81(65%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
442 Questions | 517 Answers
Customer reviews for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Review 1 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Straps and batteries

Posted06 April 2016
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
I don't know if my Suunto Core All Black is damaged or what, but I've had the thing for about 14 months and have changed the battery three times and the strap ripped so I had to buy another strap. I don't even use the alarm or any of the other functions and it's gone through four batteries!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great...but wouldn't choose the aluminum case

Posted15 February 2016
Customer avatar
fromGranbury, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Running
Experience Level:Beginner
User submitted photo
I've had this watch for 18 months. VERY accurate (compass, barometer).
Easy to learn. I don't have, or have adjusted to the contrast issue. I adjusted my contrast level to 7 or 8 and see it just fine. Replaced battery once with ease. I don't climb mountains or run 5-10 miles everyday. But I own a roofing company and am very hard on a time piece. I hunt and therefore love the compass and altitude and B. pressure features.
only disappointment: the aluminum case makes a 6mo old watch look 5 years old. it scratches very easily. If you are physically hard on watches, you may want to look at the steel or the ultimate black
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Basic function failures despite high cost

Posted06 January 2016
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Multisport
Experience Level:Advanced
I own two Suunto Core All Black watches. Both watches have failed in the same ways after the same periods of use leading me to believe the design and/or the manufacture of this watch has significant and fundamental process flaws. Both watches broke a button after two years of use significantly degrading the capabilities of the watches. Also, the band that secures the longer strap behind the clasp broke on both watches after one year of use, and then both straps of both watches broke completely after two years of use. In no way did I subject either watch to extraordinary use. This watch is not worth the cost or the hype.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent Watch, with caveat

Posted29 November 2015
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
This is an excellent watch and overall I recommend the Core series. Altimeter is very accurate as watches go. Compass is decent, but unless you are using a dedicated GPS or a real compass, I would limit its use to just general cardinal direction. When comparing to a magnetic compass, the watch compass can be off anywhere from 5-15 degrees. It is durable, but note that the aluminum bezel does scratch pretty easily. It does not bother me, however. I've owned it for over two years. I am an infantry officer in the Marines and use this watch whenever in the field and when exercising. I had to change the battery after 1.5 years, but it is simple to do and is designed so operator can change w/o compromising waterproof feature. Only complaint is that the bezel is useless even if you were to use this watch for navigation, which I would not recommend. If the intent is to be similar to a bezel on a compass for nighttime land nav, it is worthless b/c you have to illuminate the watch in order to maintain your heading; which defeats the purpose. I really like the watch, but if I had to do it again, I would recommend the ALU Black or Ultimate Black.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great and very reliable product.

Posted05 November 2015
Customer avatar
fromUkraine
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Advanced
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have my Suunto Core for over 3 years, and it shows up as really reliable product! Last year I serve in Ukrainian Armed Forces and fight in reconnaissance unit at the war in Donbass. The watch shows amazing heavy duty performance in mud, water, cold etc… and helped me in many critical situations. Only one little problem - strap. If it is interesting I can make more detailed review.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Core all black

Posted21 September 2015
Customer avatar
fromSan Bernardino, CA, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Martial Arts
Experience Level:Advanced
Had this watch for over 5 years . Im a wildland Firefighter and Spend a lot of time in the mountains . This watch never failed me till this year it finally stopped working but I put my watches thru a lot I'm ruff on my watches . So for it to last thru 5 years of fires says a lot about this watch . So with a sad face I sent it in for repair and was told it's not repairable . Broke my heart it's my favorite watch . The people at suunto where so helpful they offered to replace my broken watch with a new one for a small fraction of the price of a new one and to recycle my old watch . cant go wrong with this watch . Want to thank the people at suunto and can't wait to get my new core all black
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Suunto I have ever owned -

Posted18 August 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Jersey
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Cycling
Experience Level:Advanced
I have owned a number of Suunto watches from the older Vecters and X9/X10 models, to many of the Cores and the Ultimate Black Core is my favorite. It has all of the familiar Core essentials that I love packed in a sleek new case. I will never be without this watch in my collection. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Your time will be spent trying to get this watch to work.

Posted15 August 2015
Customer avatar
fromReading, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Orienteering
Experience Level:Advanced
If you purchase this watch solely to use it as a wrist watch, it's OK.
If you want to use its multi uses, plan to spend your time trying to figure out how to set it. Also, it helps to read the dial in a well lit room if you have a flashlight. Forget about using its light feature. Using its alt features will help you fall off your mountain. Hard to use, invisible dial under any situations. It takes an inordinate amount of time to locate the second hand. So you can spend your time working the stop watch. This purchase really was not worth it at any price. Sorry guys, but you designed it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-21points
10of 41voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best watch ever

Posted19 July 2015
Customer avatar
fromUS
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Mountaineering
Experience Level:Expert
This is by far the most durable and dependable watch I have ever owned. Just normal wear an tear. The loop on the band breaks. Had to replace it 3 times, that is the only draw back. Have to buy a new band just to get the loop. Last over 4 years in the mountains of Afghanistan getting beat up.. Everyone says I need to get a new one because it looks so rough, I just can't seem to give it up. One things I have noticed, the Sunnto battery's last longer than any others.
Sunnto Battery- Over 2 years
Other brands less than a year. So use a Sunnto battery when it needs replacing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best watch ever!!

Posted20 June 2015
Customer avatar
fromVictoria, Australia
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Alpine Skiing
Experience Level:Expert
Love this watch! It's so handy having all the info i need such as sunrise/sunset times and altitude all bundled into one great looking watch. Keep up the awesome work Suunto!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Loved the watch but poor performance.

Posted08 May 2015
Customer avatar
fromMiami
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Running
Experience Level:Advanced
First, The battery fades within a year. Then after you replace the battery the watch will start giving you problems... As much as I love the watch, it is now sitting there in my drawer, I switched to an automatic movement, the best thing ever!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My all time favorite watch

Posted14 April 2015
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
I've had this watch for about two years now, and it's been through a lot. I primarily use it for military land navigation and as an early warning for bad weather. The compass needs to be calibrated every so often to ensure that it reads correctly, I'd say about once a month or after a large change in geographic location. If you keep up on that, the compass will be dead on every time. The barometer is also spot on. I usually have about a 30 minute warning before it starts to rain. I have a screen protector on mine, so I've had no issues with scratches. This watch is incredibly durable, and goes with me everywhere. I've heard a lot of complains about the bands. Mine is just now two years old, and it's still just as sturdy as the day I got it. The rubber feels a little more stiff, but it hasn't affected performance at all. I'm just about to replace the band, only because I want a different color. Overall, I'm very impressed with this watch. I'd buy another Suunto watch any day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Problem with the watch slipping around your wrist

Posted26 March 2015
Customer avatar
fromBrampton, ON, Canada
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Snowboarding
Experience Level:Expert
I'm a big fan of Suunto. I had an Observer for many years but finally had to replace it. I chose the Core Brushed Steel model but I'd recommend anyone looking for being active with it to choose the basic black plastic model because of the strap. The reason is the metal piece that attaches the watch strap to the watch is not fixed at the watch. It is attached to the watch by a screw and thus moves. What keeps happening on my wrist is that the watch slips around to the side of my wrist because it's a heavy piece. The plastic model has the strap attached right to the watch so will probably stay in place.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome in every way

Posted25 March 2015
Customer avatar
fromUSA
Gender:Female
Primary Sport:Mountain Biking
Experience Level:Beginner
I bought my first Core in 2009 before deploying to one of the many combat zones around the globe. I found every function from the compass, altimeter, barometer, to dual time zones served a purpose. The watch was well crafted tough yet stylish and I choosecall black as it did not reflect much light. After redeploying home I retired my first core and upon returning to law enforcement I bought another Core for the exact same reasons. Thank you for a great product you have a life long customer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Real strengths and real weaknesses

Posted16 January 2015
Customer avatar
fromNew Zealand
Gender:Male
Strengths
1. Great looking 'stealth' design, ideal for dress and hunting.
2. Ergonomic and comfortable.
3. Many functions and intuitive navigation.
Weaknesses
1. Very very difficult to read even when adjusted. Please Suunto make it at least as clear as your advertisements make it look.
2. Black on aluminium scratches significantly. Paint finish is not good enough.
3. Watch face also scratches also which surprised me.
4. Tiny tiny writing on secondary screen. The lettering seriously needs to be made larger.
5. The backlight is very unclear.
Conclusion
This is my second Suunto and I think it has real strengths and real weaknesses.
I am a hunter and I am looking forward to a model being made which has the same great features but fixes the very real problems of poor screen visibility and lack of scratch resistance. These are important things to get right when so much is riding on the watch in terms of safety when in the mountains.
Please Suunto make a clearer screen display. Was this the result of the Core range being not being made in Finland but offshore instead?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good looking watch with really poor scratch resistance

Posted03 December 2014
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
Experience Level:Expert
The watch looks great when it's new, it's quite elegant. Also, it fits very ergonomic on wrist. It measures very well. What is really disappointing is the quality of the housing. After one year of using it, it looks really poor. The black paint from the bezel is ruined. It's not a best watch for real outdoor using, it's more a fancy watch for light trips in nature.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Stylish and some unique but maybe not necessary functions...

Posted08 January 2015
Customer avatar
fromIowa
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Running
Experience Level:Advanced
I received this as a Christmas gift and have wore it every day but it seems like the wrist band is getting loose and squeaking a little. The biggest complaint is that is does not have a stop watch. It has a countdown watch but that is not what I was looking for. This would be a nice added function. I would recommend this watch to others it looks great and has some unique functions.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Motty03
 
Please wait while more information about Motty03 is loaded.
Additional information about Motty03 could not be loaded.
the Core does have a stopwatch
Posted 22 April 2015
I've owned my Core since 2009 and it definitely does have a stopwatch function. the stopwatch portion is on the clock face underneath where the time is displayed. The same location as to where the countdown timer is.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I was expecting more

Posted06 January 2015
Customer avatar
Gender:Male
This is my first Suunto watch thought it looked fantastic and worked great but I was under the impression that it really had the function that I saw, I saw the Movie the Equalizer, and this model was featured in the movies. I was dumbfounded when I looked at the stop watch function, the Movie is portrayed using the stop watch function when Denzel Washington is about to fight or time himself. I actually paused the movie to see what I liked what supposedly the watch function did, but was disappointed to see it was some special effect, In the movie it shows him pressing the button to start the timer and in Big Letters it says STOPWATCH in big Blue letters and numbers! never again will i believe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-10points
11of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
mapper
 
Please wait while more information about mapper is loaded.
Additional information about mapper could not be loaded.
Stopwatch
Posted 04 June 2015
Somethings wrong here. Paragraph 4.2 on page 13, "The stopwatch measures time. It is precise to 0.1 seconds."
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

To Dim to see

Posted31 December 2014
Customer avatar
fromLas Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:Male
Primary Sport:Cycling
Experience Level:Expert
Purchased after 1 day returned it, to dim to view especialy at night, called support the person I spoke to was helpful tried a few adjusments and no change. This is a watch with all the features I am sure Suunto is aware of the issue and working to correct until then do not buy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+6points
14of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Swengen
 
Please wait while more information about Swengen is loaded.
Additional information about Swengen could not be loaded.
Negative display
Posted 21 March 2015
I wish you were right in being sure that Suunto is aware of the display issue and working to correct. I've had two negative displays and sold both to get one with a positive display that I'm happy with.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Suunto Core Alu Deep Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More Than I Expected In This Watch

Posted04 October 2014
Customer avatar
fromCalifornia
Gender:Male
I took my time researching this watch and I have had numerous watches over the years. The fit and wrist ergonomics of the Core are outstanding. The look is classy and functional. Programming instructions could be a bit better, however the online resources provide everything needed for this watch. I noticed many reviews were concerned about the brightness of the display. My experience with The Core is that even in direct sunlight, there is clear visibility of the face numbers at many different angles, and very few blackout areas. I am assuming that the reason the brightness is not like a headlight is because of the battery life, which in my opinion is a mild trade off. As for water issues, Water Resistant is like stain resistant on a pair of pants, you just do your best not to get it wet. If you plan to get it wet, I recommend that you plan on buying a new watch, and that you understand the term "Water Proof". Happy with The Core.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>